Whether you need a simple roof leak repaired, you want a new skylight installed for more natural lighting, or you’re shopping for the best deal on a roof replacement, there are many questions that you may have. Our professional roofing contractors at Leonard Clark are some of the most talented and experienced professionals in Volusia County. We are prepared to answer any questions you may have about the roofing process and the services we offer. We strive to deliver the best roofing experience for clients throughout DeLand, Deltona, Orange City, DeBary, Lake Helen, and other nearby Central Florida areas.
Q. ARE YOU A STATE LICENSED CONTRACTOR?
A. This is the first and most important question asked by the savvy / smart roofing consumer to the roofing contractor! Anyone doing roofing in Florida must have a state license roofing contractor to qualify that business. That license must be either State Registered or State Certified. A driver license or county issued handyman license is not legal.
Q. WHAT'S THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A STATE CERTIFIED AND REGISTERED?
A. A Florida Registered License Holder, Grandfathered in. They are contractors who were in business prior to the State Licensing Laws. They are restricted to working only in their local counties. A state Certified Contractor must pass a background check, a credit report check, pass a 13 1/2 hour test on business and construction knowledge, given by the State Profession Licensing and Regulatory Board. A State Certified Contractor may work anywhere in the state of Florida.
Q. HOW DO I KNOW SOMEONE IS LICENSED?
A. (Ask Them) to show you! A licensed contractor must have their license on them at all times while doing business. The state issues us a wallet-sized card for us to carry. We will not be insulted. It's not easy to get. Secondly: All advertisements from business cards to TV commercials must have the license number displayed. All vehicles used must have name of company and state licensed number displayed. This is the law! Third, call CILB (Construction Industry Licensing Board)
Q. HOW DO I IDENTIFY A STATE ROOFING LICENSE EASILY?
A. Easily, for a State Certified Roofing Contractor it begins with CCC 012345 and a State Registered Contractor is CRC 012345. Other State Construction License Specialty have different beginning letter prefix.
Q. ARE YOU INSURED?
A. The second most important question to ask anyone that is going to work on your home, especially roofers. Most homeowner insurance policies specifically exclude construction and maintenance workers. Any injury to them could cost you, your home, your savings and possibly future earnings including attachments to social security. Make sure they have a LIABILITY AND WORKER COMPENSATION POLICY. Remember even a small injury, such as stepping on a nail, could cost you a few hundred to thousands of dollars at the emergency room or worse yet, the neighbor's child steps on one!
Q. DO I NEED A PERMIT?
A. Yes, generally required on replacement of 25% of roof or greater, but depending on the community it could be any construction repair greater than $250.00.
Q. WHO GETS THE PERMIT?
A. THE CONTRACTOR! The ultimate legal responsible party is the person that pulls the permit. They are legally viewed as the contractor, whether you hire a company or not!
Q. WHAT ARE MY RESPONSIBLITIES IF I DO PULL THE PERMIT?
A. Then legally you're the contractor. If it leaks, it's your fault. If anyone is injured or any property damage occurs in relation to your project, you're responsible. Also, you're responsible for Taxes, Social Security, OSHA regulations, Insurance Laws and possibly Child Labor Laws.